Do not boast about Tomorrow

Posted: May 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

“Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring forth.” Proverbs 27:1
This says to me that I must live each day, each moment for itself. Don’t get caught up on planning for the future, right now is what is important. When I am sitting with my children, I should be listening to them. I shouldn’t be writing my next blog post in my head. I shouldn’t be planning supper. I shouldn’t be wondering how the traffic will be in an hour when I have to pick someone up from some activity. I should be right there – listening.
Later on in the chapter it says “Be sure to know the condition of your flocks, for riches do not endure forever.” (Verse 23) So those other things are important, too. They all need to be done. This says to me that I must take care of what I have been given. Don’t waste things through neglect. Don’t ignore the maintenance required to keep things working for another day.
The question becomes how do I maintain a balance between living for today and maintaining my flocks for tomorrow? What are the important things in my life that I must maintain, and when is it important to be right here, in this moment?
Relationships are the most important to God, and therefore the most important to me. My relationship with God cannot wait until the dishes are washed and the floors are swept. My relationship with others is more important than preparations for tomorrow.
I need to work on that. I need to work on being with the people who I am with. While that may sound strange, we all know what takes us away from being fully with the people around us. TV, smart phones, text messages, the project that needs finishing. There are endless places our minds can go while we pretend to listen. I want to make a difference in someone’s life today. Not only today, but every day. But I will start with today.
Live for today. Make a difference today. Build on a relationship today.

Dear God,
Thank you for today. Thank you that you have given me another day to spend with the people you have given me in my life. Thank you that you have given me another day to enjoy the world that you created. Help me to live today for today, and not for tomorrow.
Amen

Comment

