The Core

Posted: April 4, 2013 in Swim
Tags: , , , ,

As I plowed through the water trying to finish 300m, my daughter comes gliding up to me. “Can I tell you something? It will help you! You need to keep your body higher in the water. You need core strength”
And she is right. I have been concentrating on so many things – endurance, running form, breathing, counting laps – that I have not even thought about my core.

Strong core muscles improve balance, posture, and strength for running, swimming, kicking and throwing. http://www.swimsmooth.com/core.html is a great article on the effect of core muscle strength on swimming technique.

What am I doing about it? Honestly – not much right now! But I know where to start when I am ready to add another dimension to my work out.

Comment

