Stationary Biking

Posted: January 26, 2013 in Bike

It’s -35 degrees Celsius, with a wind chill. While there are some people who will bike outside in this weather, I am not one of them. The indoor alternative, is a bike trainer, or a stationary bike.

The bike trainer is a stand that allows you to ride your bike without going anywhere. One advantage to using a trainer is that you always ride a bike that is familiar to you. The positioning is the same as on the street, developing the same muscles.

As I don’t have a trainer available, I was on a stationary bike this evening. There are two style choices in the stationary bike – traditional and recumbent. I chose the traditional, upright style, as it is more like the road bike.

The first thing I noticed was that the seat was shifted slightly forward. This made me feel as if I was going to slide right off. I found myself pushing my body back with my arms for quite a bit of the ride.

The second thing I noticed is that there is no coasting with a stationary bike! If you don’t pedal, you don’t get anywhere. When riding on the street, I enjoy the coasting down after working hard to get up a hill, so to keep pedalling made the ride less enjoyable, although,the fan blowing in my face did a reasonable job of simulating the wind!

All in all, the stationary bike is a decent substitute for riding when the outside weather is impossible, but there really is nothing like the real thing!

Comment

