Treadmill Running

Posted: December 30, 2012 in Run
Tags: , , ,

My favorite place to run is outdoors. I like to run a path that has varied surfaces and scenery. I like to run a circuit from start to finish, without laps. I find it too easy to stop and not complete the laps.

But I live in Manitoba, so outdoor running is not always possible. The next best thing is a track. The track that I frequent has a “spongy” floor, making running more pleasurable, and easier on the joints. It is sometimes difficult to find the motivation to continue running lap after lap.

Sometimes circumstance requires running on a treadmill. Given the choice of not running at all or using a treadmill, I will take the treadmill. I notice when I have done nothing at all in a week.

So I found myself on a treadmill and discovered that it is not like surface running. I have only done a little research on this, but everything I found supports my observations.

When on a treadmill, it is necessary to maintain an upright posture. There is no need to lean forward as in surface running because your body is not moving forward. Holding the railings on the treadmill encouraged bad posture.

That is the second point. Swing your arms when you run to get a more natural gait. Holding the railings not only encouraged leaning, I was also putting weight on my arms, holding my body up.

Balance was also an issue. Once I let go of the railings, I had to find my balance on the moving belt. Perhaps this is a core body strength issue. That may be the next thing I need to work on.

While treadmill running is not my favorite, it will do in a pinch.

Comment

