Barefoot walking

Posted: November 25, 2012 in Run
Tags: , ,

Can the practice of running barefoot be applied to everyday walking at work?
Lately, I have noticed that my feet are tired after wearing my traditional running shoes at work. I walk on cement floors, and thought cushioned shoes were the best footwear. Researching the question, I found that most experts agree with me.
Then I went for a run. I haven’t been running for at least a month (life is busy, and the weather is cold). Within the first 100m, I could feel the small muscles in my feet stretching. My feet felt better than they have in a long time.
So, perhaps cushioned runners are not the best shoes to be wearing, even at work. I am going to try wearing lighter shoes with a softer sole to work this week. I think that allowing my feet to flex and move with my step may be better for them. As for the hard, cement floors, I may find myself walking on my toes more to reduce the impact.

Comments
  1. Brenda says:

    HI Nancy
    I hadn’t checked your blog in quite awhile so I just did.
    Great words of wisdom. Life has lots of curves, hills and valleys! You said it well when you stated that you want to spiritual train so that your body craves it when you have missed some days of training! Wishing you and your family a blessed Christmas.

Comment

